Symposium A3. Advanced Interconnects and Packaging, Materials, Characterization, and Methodology

Prof. Jenn-Ming SongNational Chung Hsing University, Taiwan
Prof. Jihperng (Jim) LeuNational Chiao Tung University, Taiwan
Prof. C. Robert KaoNational Taiwan University, Taiwan
Prof. Chih ChenNational Chiao Tung University, Taiwan
Prof. Kuan-Neng Chen

National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan


The electronics industry is nearing the limits of traditional CMOS scaling. The requests in capability and functionality of the devices are drastically increasing. Regarding emerging applications of electronic devices, such as healthcare, Industry 4.0, automotive, and so on, revolutionary changes to interconnect and packaging technologies for smarter usage are progressing. The scope of area A3 covers leading edge developments and technical innovations across interconnects and packaging spectrum. Topics ranging from materials and processing, assembly and manufacturing, characterization, and applied reliability are included. The technical sessions under area A3 will provide a perfect opportunity to communicate, interact and exchange technical ideas for anybody in the field of the interconnect and packaging technologies. Papers related to interconnect materials, processes and devices are solicited including (1) Interconnects & Dielectrics, Cu/low-k and those applied in TSV, microbumps, wafer level packaging and system-in-package; (2) Sensor/MEMS/optical integrations; (3) Power/Thermoelectronics packaging; (4) Substrates for different level packages, and interfaces including interactions and intermetallics; (5) Emerging Technologies and Materials; (6) Phase stability and reliability phenomena, e.g. electromigration, thermomigration and their physics.

  1. Interconnects and Dielectrics
  2. Heterogeneous and Photonic Integration
  3. Power and Thermoelectronic Packaging
  4. Substrates and Interfaces
  5. Emerging Technologies and Materials
  6. Phase Stability and Reliability

Keynote Speakers & Invited Speakers (tentative):
1. Prof. Tadatomo SugaUniversity of Tokyo, Japan
2. Prof. King-Ning TuNational Chiao Tung University, Taiwan (UCLA)
3. Dr. Chia-Hong JanIntel Corp. Fellow/VP
4. Dr. Jun HeTaiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company, Taiwan
5. Prof. Takafumi FukushimaTohoku University, Japan
6. Prof. Hiroshi NishikawaOsaka University, Japan
7. Prof. Kazuhiro NogitaThe University of Queensland, Australia
8. Prof. Christopher GourlayImperial College, London
9. Prof. Yunhui MeiTianjin University, China