Symposium B3. Energy Conversion and Storage (Electrochemical Batteries, Supercapacitors, Thermoelectrics)

Prof. Chun-Hua ChenNational Chiao Tung University, Taiwan
Prof. Jenq-Gong DuhNational Tsing Hua University, Taiwan


The aim of this symposium is to explore the state-of-the-art battery, supercapacitors, and thermoelectric materials science and technology that are critical in making the current energy conversion and storage systems more effective and to assemble experts from the different fields to promote co-operations on multi-functional materials and applications development.

  1. Electrochemical energy storage in the area of batteries (Li-ion, metal-air, metal-water), supercapacitors, intercalation anodes and cathodes, nanocomposite polymers, metal hydrides and electrolytes (new solvents and salts, additives for reduced flammability and improved SEI formation, ionic liquids), as well as studies which advance the understanding of electrode/electrolyte interfacial phenomena.
  2. Thermoelectric materials preparation (new thermoelectric compounds, inorganic/organic thermoelectric bulk, thin films, multilayers and nanocomposites), thermoelectric materials characterization (Seebeck coefficient, thermal transport, thermal conductivity, and ZT), and devices, as well as relevant theory and modeling.

Keynote Speakers & Invited Speakers (tentative):
1. Dr. Kuei-Hsien ChenInstitute of Atomic and Molecular Sciences, Academia Sinica, Taiwan
2. Dr. Takao MoriNational Institute for Materials Science (NIMS) WPI International Center for Materials Nanoarchitectonics (MANA), Japan
3. Prof. Chien-Neng LiaoNational Tsing Hua University, Taiwam
4. Prof. Min-Wook OHHanbat National University, Korea
5. Prof. Mei-Jiau HuangNational Taiwan University, Taiwan
6. Prof. Hsin-jay WuNational Sun Yat-sen University, Taiwan
7. Dr. Yang-Yuan ChenInstitute of Physics, Academia Sinca, Taiwan
8. Dr. Ryoji FunahashiNational Institute of Advanced Industrial Science & Technology, Japan
9. Prof. Hai-Wen LIInternational Research Center for Hydrogen Energy, Japan
10. Prof. Dinghua BaoSun Yat-Sen University, Taiwan
11. Prof. Chia-Chen LiNational Taipei University of Technology, Taiwan
12. Prof. Atsuko KosugaOsaka Prefecture university, Physical Science, Japan