Symposium D7. Smart Materials

Prof. Chuan-Pu LiuNational Cheng Kung University, Taiwan
Prof. Ruey-Chi WangNational University of Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Dr. Tzer-Shen LinIndustry Technology Research Institute, Taiwan


In order to enable the next generation technologies, we demand smart materials that can be given with properties in more actively responsive to their environmental changes in a controllable fashion by external stimuli. Smart materials are capable of providing more functions and characteristics by design, such as self-healing, self-cleaning, multi-functional materials, and interfacing with humans. This field has rapidly grown at its high impact, therefore, the purpose of this symposium is to establish a platform for world experts in basic sciences and applications to profoundly discuss the latest breakthroughs in smart materials. This symposium aims to cover a broad spectrum of synthesis and properties of smart materials, including but not limited to nanomaterials, optoelectronic materials, piezoelectric materials, magnetostrictive & electrostrictive materials, thermoelectric materials, adaptive materials, phase change materials as well as their applications for energy, environmental sensing, automation, and smart home etc.


  1. Synthesis and characteristics of smart nanomaterials
  2. Synthesis and characteristics of smart optoelectronic materials
  3. Synthesis and characteristics of piezoelectric materials
  4. Synthesis and characteristics of magnetostrictive and electrostrictive materials
  5. Synthesis and characteristics of thermoelectric materials
  6. Synthesis and characteristics of adaptive materials
  7. Synthesis and characteristics of phase change materials
  8. Application of smart materials for energy
  9. Application of smart materials for environmental sensing
  10. Application of smart materials for automation
  11. Application of smart materials for smart home

Keynote Speakers & Invited Speakers (tentative):
1. Senior Researcher, Naoki FukataNational Institute for Materials Science, Japan
2. Prof. Viswanath BalakrishnanIIT Mandi, India
3. Prof. Sang-Woo KimSungkyunkwan University, Korea
4. Prof. Masahiro NOMURAInstitute of Industrial Science, The University of Tokyo.Japan
5. Prof. Jong Hoon JungInha University, Korea
6. Prof. Woochul KimYonsei University, Korea
7. Prof. Jyh-Ming WuNatioanl Tsing Hua University, Taiwan
8. Prof. Zhong-Hung LinNatioanl Tsing Hua University, Taiwan
9. Prof. Jianhua HaoThe Hong Kong Polytechnic University, China
10. Dr. Weiguo HuBeijing Institute of Nanoenergy and Nanosystem, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
11. Prof. Yannan XieXiamen University, China
12. Distinguished Prof. Rod RuoffUNIST, Korea
13. Prof. BOLES Steven Hong Kong Polytechnic University, China
14. Prof. T C WenDepartment of Chemistry Engineering, Taiwan
15. Prof. Hsuen-Li ChenDepartment of Materials Science and Engineering, Taiwan
16. Dr. Chyi-Ming LeuIndustrial Technology Research Institute, Taiwan
17. Dr. Ren-Der JeanIndustrial Technology Research Institute, Taiwan
18. Chairman, Max LaiiSentek Inc, Taiwan
19. Prof. Chuin-Shan ChenNational Taiwan University, Taiwan