Symposium F5. Nanofabrication, Nanodevices, NEMS/MEMS and Sensor Technology

Prof. Fan-Gang TsengNational Tsing Hua University, Taiwan
Prof. Sheng-Wei LeeNational Central University, Taiwan
Prof. Pei-Wen LiNational Chiao Tung University, Taiwan
Prof. Motofumi SuzukiKyoto University, Japan


A variety of devices at nanometer scale/molecular scale for electronic, optoelectronic, sensing, thermoelectric, piezoelectric, biological and mechanical applications have been created through a rapid development of materials and fabrication technology. Further development of such devices or sensors strongly depends on the state-of-the-art knowledge of science and fabrication technology at nanoscale or on Nano/Micro-Electro-Mechanical Systems (NEMS/MEMS). This symposium aims at providing an interdisciplinary forum for presentation, discussion and review of the latest advance in nanodevices and nanofabrication, MEMS and sensor technology. Physics and chemistry in nanofabrication processes and their modelings are also in our scope. It intends to promote communication and collaboration among scientists involved in basic, applied, theoretic, or new conceptual research of the areas.


  1. Fabrication, characterization, and modeling of nanodevices for (but not limited to) electronic, optoelectronic, sensing, thermoelectric, magnetic, piezoelectric, biological, and mechanical applications.
  2. Nanofabrication technologies such as scanning probe techniques, self-assembly techniques, selective etching/deposition, electron/ion beam technologies, and advanced photolithograph.
  3. Technologies for fabrication, material design, and characterization of Micro/Nano-Electro-Mechanical Systems (NEMS/MEMS) which include micro-sensors, microactuators, optical devices, RF devices, etc. Materials, integration and packaging techniques are also welcome.
  4. Chemical sensors and biosensors: Materials, devices, and their related reliability

Keynote Speakers & Invited Speakers (tentative):
1. Prof. Motofumi SuzukiKyoto University, Japan
2. Dr. Thomas GeorgeSaraniaSat Inc., USA
3. Prof. Masato SoneTokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
4. Prof. Chao-Sung LaiChang Gung university, Taiwan
5. Prof. Daisuke YamaneTokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
6. Prof. Pei-Kuen WeiAcamedia Sinica, Taiwan
7. Prof. Da-Jeng YaoNational Tsing Hua University, Taiwan
8. Prof. Chih-Ting LinNational Taiwan University, Taiwan
9. Prof. Chia-Wen TsaoNational Central University, Taiwan
10. Prof. Ping-Hung YehTamkang University, Taiwan
11. Prof. Yit-Tsong ChenNational Taiwan University, Taiwan